Mitchell Max Award

The NIH Pain Consortium Mitchell Max Award for Research Excellence honors Dr. Mitchell Max, MD (1949 – 2008) for his lifetime contribution to pain research and is awarded annually to the best poster presentation at the NIH Pain Consortium Symposium.



2017 Mitchell Max Award Finalists



Chemokine (c-c motif) Receptor 2 (CCR2) Mediates Mechanical and Cold Hypersensitivity in Chronic Sickle Cell Disease Pain

Katelyn E. Sadler PhD, Department of Cell Biology, Neurobiology, & Anatomy, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI



Variation in MC1R Gene Predicts Dental Pain Sensitivity

Cameron L. Randall, *Department of Psychology, West Virginia University, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of Washington*



MRGB2 Contributes to Mechanical and Thermal Allodynia in an Animal Models of Inflammatory and Neuropathic Pain

Dustin Green, PhD Department of Neuroscience, Johns Hopkins University